Make Your Own English Muffins

image courtesy of KingArthurFlour.com

Someone from my new favorite baking blog, at the King Arthur Flour test kitchen, posted this recipe for home made breakfast sandwiches. They look too good to pass up! Click the picture for the recipe, and let me know if you try.

4 responses to “Make Your Own English Muffins

  1. I love your blog – everything looks so delicious! Can you come visit and bring some pastries with you? PLEEEAAASE???

  2. Great link! Thanks. I have tried to make English muffins few times but they never turned out as beautifully as those in the pictures. I don’t have an electrical griddle; therefore, I always end up burning the outside a little more and making them hard like pizza crust. How do you check on the temperature of the pan/griddle when you cook on the stove top? Do you have one of those fancy infrared thermometers like Alton Brown does? He is such a geek, but I love it! Bringing science to cooking.

  3. The best advice I ever heard about using a griddle goes something like this:

    Imagine looking for your exit while you are driving down the highway going 90MPH. Once you see it, chances are you will not be able to slow down in time to get off. Now imagine yourself going 30MPH. It will take longer to get to your exit, but when you do, you can’t miss. I hope that makes sense…

    I think the same goes for a lot of “toasted” food. The first time I learned this was from my roommate in New Orleans, who taught me the best way to make bacon. You put it in a cold pan and place the pan over low heat. The bacon takes forever to cook, but it comes out chewy and tender. You can also put it on a baking sheet in a 200 degree oven for about 25 minutes.

    You definitely don’t need an electric griddle for the English muffins, just a well-seasoned cast iron one. I bought mine at Macy’s for $10! And they last forever.

Leave a Reply

