Strawberry Cream Puffs

strawberry-cream-puffs1

For Valentines or the winter blues, nothing goes better with Champagne!

I use Thomas Keller’s super simple recipe for the profiteroles, and for the strawberry mousse filling, I use this equally awesome and simple recipe from A la Table des Rois, a book I reeally want to get:

broglie

The only difference is that I add more whipped cream than the recipe calls for (about 2x), to make the filling extra fluffy, and I put it in a piping bag instead of in molds.

Once you have the profiteroles and mousse prepared per the recipes’ instructions, here is what to do:

1. Cut a 1.5″ circle out of the top of each profiterole. I find it easiest to leave them attached by only cutting 90% of the circle.

cream-puff-cutting

2. Remove the piping bag of strawberry mousse from the refrigerator. If you don’t have a piping bag, a strong plastic bag with 1″ cut from the corner will work fine. “Inject” each profiterole with mousse, being sure to get in all the corners and nooks. There should be enough to fill the profiterole to the top when the “lid” is closed.

cream-puff-filling

Close them, dust with confectioner’s sugar, and refrigerate until ready to serve.

4 responses to “Strawberry Cream Puffs

  1. This really looks yummy. This is my all time favorite but found it so hard to make. I’ll try to make one someday when I am not lazy enough=)

  2. Thanks for the recipes. And I definitely want to check out A La Table des Rois now! Maybe I will go to Strand Book to see if they have any used ones. What are other great cooking books you have? Just watched last episode of Top Chef and they had to cook for famous chefs for their supposed “last meal”. And Jacques Pepin was one of the judges and everybody says that a cook/chef should have at least one of his books, what do you think?

  3. If you see it there let me know! I think it is out of print. I have toooo many cookbooks. One I want to profile soon is another antique called “When You’re Entertaining Internationally.” It is a book of feasts from just about every country with wine pairings.

    I totally agree about Pepin. I have his party cookbook…my favorite is the page where he shows how to easily carve a honeydew melon into a swan. Highly recommend that one. Oh, he also shows how to wrap a salmon in pastry, cut it into a fish shape, then make the scales of the fish by imprinting circles on the pastry with the wide end of a pastry bag tip. SO creative!!!

Leave a Reply

