Gingerbread Pancakes

Visiting parents today and had awesome pancakes for breakfast.

Mom’s secret: half gingerbread mix, half pancake mix!

2 responses to “Gingerbread Pancakes

  1. that’s a great idea! I am a big fan of pancakes, and I am forever finding new recipes, great maple syrup, and butter.

    one questions: I used Alton Brown’s blueberry muffins reciepe, http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/blueberry-muffins-recipe/index.html, but I didn’t have yogurt, so I used 1/3 cup of buttermilk, which turned into a disaster as I had expected. I used buttermilk because of its similar acidity to yogurt, and I decreased the amount because it has more liquid. My question is that is buttermilk interchangeable with yogurt or milk in baking recipes? if it is, how do i do the substitution? thanks very much, and I enjoy your blog!

    • I’m sorry to hear that! For next time, I think you have a few options.#1: squeeze the juice of one lemon into the buttermilk (use about 2 tsp less milk) and leave it to curdle for about 10 minutes. This will thicken it to the consistency of runny yogurt and also give it that yogurty tang. #2: add an extra egg to the recipe. Yogurt is a popular egg replacer in vegan recipes, so maybe doing the opposite would work, too. Also, be sure to mix wet into dry ingredients only until just combined, even if dry lumps still remain. This will result in lighter, fluffier cakes. Lemme know how it works out!

Leave a Reply

