I Know What Cloud 9 Smells Like

I make muffins every day. It’s my job – I am the “muffin lady” in this ‘hood! So you may wonder why I have not posted about muffins until this point. It must be something like not being able to see your own nose, if you know what I mean 🙂

At least once a week a new muffin gets invented in my kitchen, and that keeps things interesting. The one I invented tonight is noteworthy not only for its culinary appeal, but because baking them made my whole house smell freakin’ amazing! Like, getting-dizzy-from-hyperventilating-good.

Someone who bakes as much as I do smells lots of good stuff. The aroma pretty much entrances everyone who walks through the door. Just the other night, after I’d baked some corn muffins, Jean’s friend Alan walked in and declared “A house should not smell like this any more than once a week. It’s not fair.”

But to me, those smells have become a backup to my kitchen timer: a way to distinguish exactly what is going on inside my windowless oven, which leaves little time for me to actually “stop and smell the muffins.”

BUT tonight was an exception. For the first time, I made Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Swirl Muffins. And my house has never smelled better. As far as I can remember, nothing has smelled better. Seriously…better than all the Nag Champa I burned in college, a field of lily-of-the-valley, and every hot dog cart in New York all put together.

by Anita

Here’s the recipe!

Chocolate Raspberry Swirl Muffins (Vegan)
Makes 6 jumbo muffins

1 ¾ c. unbleached flour
¼ c. natural (non-dutched) cocoa powder
2 tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
½ tsp. cinnamon
½ c. sugar
¼ c. brown sugar
¾ c. soymilk
1/3 c. canola oil
1 tsp. flax seed blended with 3 tsp. water
1/3 c. raspberry jam

Preheat oven to 375°F. Grease muffin tin.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In a separate bowl, whisk together everything else but the jam. Add the wet to the dry and fold together until just combined.

Drop the jam on top of the batter in spoonfuls, and then fold in 2-3 times, but do not completely mix in.

Divide batter between tins and bake 20-25 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

You kitchen will smell amazing!

2 responses to “I Know What Cloud 9 Smells Like

  1. I ate one of these chocolate raspberry muffins today and I swear there was some magic baked into them. As I moaned with gluttonous delight as I ate it, the man sitting next to me said he had the Banana Nut and it was also delicious. I told him that my beautiful friend makes them every day. He was impressed. Me too.

  2. Sky! I put some extra love in just for you. XOXO

Leave a Reply

