Paki-Taco

I went to Jackson Heights today on a Patel Brothers bulk bean spree, for the soups I will be making for Phoebe’s. Hopefully, this week’s Yellow Lentil will go over as well as last weekend’s Vegan Moroccan-Style Chili (a.k.a. Harira, but with kidney beans).

On the way (okay, maybe a little out-of-the-way), I got myself a little (well, maybe not-so-little) snack at Al-Naimat on 74th. My Aloo Paratha was just what I was craving; a whole wheat Roti, filled with perfectly-spiced potatoes and grilled in butter. Um, yum.

I got it topped with salad, tangy yogurt sauce, and spicy mango pickle. Actually, I got it to go, found myself a nice, sunny little tree stump to sit on and assembled it myself.

I think this deserves the picnic of the year award at $3.00!

Aloo Paratha

 

Next time I will have to try the Dosa.

Al-Naimat Sweets & Restaurant
37-03 74th St.
between Roosevelt and 37th Ave.
Jackson Heights

*UPDATE* On a completely unrelated search (for info on kheer/rice pudding), I found this amazing recipe for real Indian tacos! It’s a great recipe blog- very creative and exotic munchies – just like I like.

Leave a Reply

